Prayer for the Seeds


Listen! A farmer went out to plant some seeds. As he scattered them across his field, some seeds fell on a footpath, and the birds came and ate them. Other seeds fell on shallow soil with underlying rock. The seeds sprouted quickly because the soil was shallow. But the plants soon wilted under the hot sun, and since they didn’t have deep roots, they died. Other seeds fell among thorns that grew up and choked out the tender plants. Still other seeds fell on fertile soil, and they produced a crop that was thirty, sixty, and even a hundred times as much as had been planted! Anyone with ears to hear should listen and understand. – Jesus in Matthew 13
As we planted our first garden bed, I cannot help but consider these words. How easy it is to throw seed around, careless, free, all willy-nilly. And how some of that seed makes it for a while, some doesn’t even germinate, while just a bit grows towards full maturity. Only a bit grows to be the fullest expression of the seed.
A two-fold prayer:
God, I understand almost nothing about you, yet what I’ve learned, I trust. You are awesome, indeed.
So we’re planting our garden, and I’m hopeful. Soooo excited about these seeds going into the seedling beds, germinating, transplanting once, then transplanting a final time. I love watching them grow, fight off pests, and produce fruit. I love watering them, mulching them, walking barefoot among them. Each seed is a miracle, indeed. I’m thankful I get to be a part of restoring this teeny corner of your glorious creation to a fuller-expression of its first self. Thank you. It’s not a job I take lightly.
So we’re building relationships in our community, and I’m hopeful. I’m soooo excited about these people and their stories and how you’re weaving it all together. I’m excited about the great things to come. I love learning from them, hoeing under the hot sun on a Saturday with them, watching them grow and fight off Darkness. I love being among these perfect manifestations of your Creation and Love. And I love learning how to redeem ourselves back towards each other, and ourselves, and the land, and You.
Give me perseverance in showing up, so that You might work. Give me humility when I teach, and may it fall on ears that hear. May IIII be ears that hear and eyes that see. Protect us from thorns of anger, jealousy, greed and hate in our community. May we not be choked out. Give me diligence in carrying water (both literally from the river and figuratively Your Son to our souls) to those around me. May our soil be deep. May our thorns be few. May the rocks be thrown to the side. And may our ground be fertile. And may I do some small thing, each day, to contribute to the depth, breadth, width, fertility, and goodness of both our gardens and our hearts. Through Christ’s great love, we give thanks. Amen.

20140206-155402.jpg
Our first mandala bed, ready to plant.

Categories: just for fun, Kingdom Coming Related, Swaziland Updates | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Prayer for the Seeds

  1. Kama

    Your post is beautiful and so is your mandala bed! I can’t wait to see it growing. We are still fighting back a pretty severe winter. My ground was so frozen last week that I couldn’t even break it up with my tiller! And as I write this, Jeff is stranded at an airport in Midland, Texas. American Airlines is canceling flights like crazy because of ice. I long for warmth. And to be able to get my hands in the ground. Winter melancholy is pressing down hard. Blessings to you! Thanks for the warm sunny pictures! PS Speaking of pictures…were you able to give away some of those pictures I took on our trip? I would have loved to see the excited expressions on their faces when they saw themselves. 🙂

  2. Mom Dicken

    Amen.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

