Basil of Cesarea


Basil of Caesarea wrote, “When someone steals a person’s clothes, we call him a thief. Should we not give the same name to one who could clothe the naked and does not? The bread in your cupboard belongs to the hungry; the coat hanging unused in your closet belongs to those who need it; the shoes rotting in your closet to the one who has no shoes. The money which you hoard up belongs to the poor.”

This one takes a re-read, go ahead, read it niiiiiiice and slooooooow. 

Ouch, Basil, this one cuts to the core. Are you really saying that I could be the most selfless person and still be a thief? I could donate oodles of my money to those who are hurting, I could tutor & hug orphans, help old ladies and gents across the street, I could write thank-yous when people send me a gift, I could be a wonderful and selfless and supporting wife, and great at all the relationships I’m blessed to be apart of. Basically, I could be a saint in my own eyes & in the eyes of others. But I’m still a thief if I’ve got extra clothes? Extra bread? Must I have nothing? Must I only have one pair of underwear? And the only way I can have two pairs of underwear is if everyone, EVERYONE? has two pairs as well?

Basil, I’m screwed. How hopeless am I?! Will my whole view on life have to change because I’ve got more underwear than some? I mean, c’mon, I don’t even have that many pairs. Yup, I know. I’m doing it again. Making light of a really serious situation by trying to make myself laugh. Trying to make you, Basil, laugh. I really want to distract you, because these words are heavy. 

H  E   A   V   Y

on my soul today.

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Basil of Cesarea

  1. Paul

    These are thoughts that we need to keep in mind all the time. Then there is the issue that those who are married try to please their partner, but those who are single try to please God”. 1 pair of underwear for singles, 2 for marrieds? I am not making lite of this. All of this is often on my mind. And I think even if we are still far away from this ideal, we need to continuously and consistently work towards it.

  2. Yah, I agree with that – work hard towards it. I guess I’m cleaning out my closet, which is something I’ve felt compelled to do for a few weeks now.

  3. Mom

    Deep AND Painfull…………painfully deep. I struggle with this on a daily basis. I agree working TOWARDS it is a great goal because if I think of BEING AT THE GOAL LINE it is so overwhelming I will quit trying for the goal.

  4. Thank YOU for the honesty, mom. That means a lot. Perhaps we just need to keep feeling the ‘deep and painful’ and then remind each other. And have a closet-cleaning, bread-sharing party together? 😉 That doesn’t sound so painful . .. hehe

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

